OCS / Mitie — £3.1bn M&A Transaction Analysis
An analysis of OCS's recommended acquisition of Mitie, separating verified deal mechanics from explicitly illustrative financing and synergy scenarios.
Offer announced 21 July 2026 · Currency: pounds sterling
Offer value against unaffected price
Pence per share · 151.0p unaffected close
Verified deal mechanics
OCS agreed a recommended cash acquisition at 218.5p per share. Mitie shareholders may retain the FY26 final dividend of 3.1p, taking headline value to 221.6p per share. The cash price represents a 44.7% premium and the headline value a 46.8% premium to the 151.0p unaffected close on 20 July 2026. The offer announcement implies approximately £3.1bn of fully diluted equity value and describes the combined group as having approximately £8.5bn of calendar-2025 revenue.
Operating reference points
The model keeps periods and profit measures separate. OCS FY2025 revenue was £2,658.6m, adjusted EBITDA £191.6m, operating profit before adjusting items £135.2m and operating cash flow £163.9m. Mitie FY2026 revenue was £5,619m, operating profit before Other items £264m and free cash flow £162m. Mitie's operating profit is not relabelled as EBITDA, and the non-coterminous revenues are not summed and presented as the official combined-revenue figure.
Financing
The offer materials disclose funding through CD&R equity and committed debt financing. The portfolio model deliberately does not infer the actual acquisition-debt draw or sponsor ownership economics from headline commitments. It instead provides an editable illustrative financing scenario that always balances sources and uses.
In the central example, approximately £3.1bn of equity purchase value plus £125m of illustrative integration cost gives £3.225bn of uses. A 50% debt-funded scenario produces £1.6125bn of illustrative new acquisition debt and an equal sponsor-equity residual. These are scenario assumptions, not disclosed transaction funding amounts.
Synergy scenarios
OCS has not publicly disclosed the £50m, £100m and £150m synergy values used in the model. They are illustrative cases only. The model phases capture at 25% in year one, 65% in year two and 100% from year three, while explicitly including implementation-cost assumptions of 1.5x, 1.25x and 1.0x run-rate synergies across bear, base and bull cases.
Key risks
The main analytical risks are integration execution, customer and contract disruption, the size of the control premium, leverage and refinancing, and uncertainty around the final funding / liability perimeter. At a 46.8% headline premium, the transaction requires meaningful operating delivery for the economics to be attractive.
Sources & methodology
- Mitie investor materials and Rule 2.7 offer announcement.
- Mitie FY26 annual report.
- OCS Group Topco 2025 annual report.
Sourced transaction and operating facts are separated from editable model assumptions.
Downloads
The PDF report and Excel workbook include verified deal mechanics, separate operating reference points, a balanced illustrative financing scenario, phased synergy cases and source notes.
Disclosure: Independent portfolio research for educational purposes. This is not investment advice or a recommendation on the transaction.